Book and Publication Awards 

Click each award listing for information on eligibility, nominations and past awardees. Individuals may only submit for one award per publication.

The de la Torre Bueno® First Book Award

Awarded annually to the best first book in dance studies published in the English language in the previous calendar year.

2022 Awardee: Adrienne Cohen, Infinite Repertoire: On Dance and Urban Possibility in Postsocialist Guinea

The de la Torre Bueno® Prize

Awarded annually to a book published in the English language that advances the field of dance studies. Qualified submissions are not restricted to any particular methodology or approach, but should introduce quality dance studies scholarship to a wider audience.

2022 Awardee: SanSan Kwan, Love Dances: Loss and Mourning in Intercultural Collaboration

Gertrude Lippincott Award

Awarded annually to the best English-language article published in dance studies.

2022 Awardee: Royona Mitra, Unmaking Contact: Choreographic Touch at the Intersections of Race, Caste, and Gender" (Dance Research Journal)

2022 Honorable Mention: Lindsey Drury, “The Double Life of Pagan Dance: Indigenous Rituality, Early Modern Dance, and the Language of US Newspapers" (European Journal of Theatre and Performance)

Oscar G. Brockett Book Prize for Dance Research

Awarded each year to the best book in dance whose primary method of approach includes historical inquiry published during the previous three calendar years.

2022 Awardee: Ananya Chatterjea, Heat and Alterity in Contemporary Dance: South-South Choreographies 

2022 Honorable Mention: J. Lorenzo Perillo, Choreographing in Color: Filipinos, Hip-Hop, and the Cultural Politics of Euphemism